Liberty Bell Award 2020


Chattanooga Bar Association


Nominations Sought


Each year, the Chattanooga Bar Association  honors an outstanding citizen in the Chattanooga area with the “Liberty Bell Award” for public service.  Nominations are currently being solicited for the 2020 award, to be presented during the annual Law Day Luncheon which will be held on Wednesday, August 26, 2020. All nominations should be received by Thursday, July 30, 2020, and send to: Lynda Minks Hood, Executive Director, Chattanooga Bar Association, The Pioneer Building, Suite 420, 801 Broad Street Chattanooga, TN 37402.


The purpose of the Liberty Bell Award is to recognize community service that has strengthened the America system of freedom under law.  In selecting the recipient of this award, the Chattanooga Bar Association considers such service as including activities which (1) promotes better understanding of our Constitution and the Bill of Rights; (2) encourage a greater respect for the law and the courts; (3) stimulates a deeper sense of individual responsibility so that citizens recognize their duties as well as their rights; (4) contribute to the effective functioning of our institutions of government; and (5) foster a better understanding and appreciation of the rule of law.


This prestigious award, presented annually by the Chattanooga Bar Association, will be selected from nominations received by the awards judges.  Lawyers and judges are not eligible for the award; however, all other fields of endeavor are intended for the inclusion, namely education, business, sciences, communications, labor, government, religion, professions and youth organizations.


Nomination Form

Must be received on or before Thursday, July 30, 2020

The Selection Commission will review nominations and the award will be presented at the

 Annual Law Day Luncheon on Wednesday, AUGUST 26, 2020.

Nominee _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Reason for Nomination ( Please attached all supporting materials supporting the nomination) ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________





Nominated by: ____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Address __________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Phone __________________________________________   Business Phone __________________________________________________________

Please mail in your nomination to Lynda Minks Hood, Executive Director, Chattanooga Bar Association, The Pioneer Building, Suite 420, 801 Broad Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402, or by fax to (423) 265-660

liberty Bell Award Recipients

1964 William O. Hubbuch

1965 William E. Brock, Jr

1966 Raymond R. Murphy, Sr

1967 Rev. John H. Bonner, Jr.

1968 Lee S. Anderson

1969 Dr. James L. Fowler

1970 Dr. C.C. Bond

1971 Col. Creed F. Bates

1972 Dr. Jesse E. Adams

1973 Dr. J. Fred Johnson, Sr

1974 Roy C. Noel, Sr

1975 Margaret Cooper

1976 Dr. Spencer McCallie, Jr

1977 Dr. Lee S. Roberson

1978 Joseph H. Davenport, Jr

1979 Gordon P. Street, Sr

1980 Mai Bell Hurley

1981 none selected

1982 Luther Masingill

1983 Morris J. Slutsky

1984 H. Carey Hanlin

1985 Joseph F. Decosimo

1986 Col.  Roger Ingvalson

1987 John Popham

1988 Sam McConnell

1989 Sarah Faires & Alfred Law, Jr

1990 Ruth Holmberg

1991 J. Robert McGuff
1992 Rabbi Ken Kantor


             1993 Anne Dixson
           1994 Paul J. Kinser
           1995 Martha McCarley
           1996 Dr. Dennis L. Bizzoco  
           1997 Charlotte B. Boatwright
            1998 Rev. Paul A. McDaniel
           1999 Linda Mines
           2000 Vernon W. Cox
           2001 Flo Summitt
           2002 Harold L. Coker
           2003 Judith Medearis
           2004 James Mapp
           2005 Robert Oliver
           2006 Julie Baumgardner
           2007  Paul Neely
           2008 Bill Markham
           2009 Wayne Keylon
           2010  Skipper Fairbanks
           2011  Claude Ramsey
           2012  Jenny Smith Wright
           2013  Dr. Michael Woodward
           2014 Napolian Williams
           2015 Dr. Patricia Skates
           2016 Joe Smith
           2017 David F. Ross, PhD
           2018  U. S. Senator Bob Corker
           2019 Darrell Wyke
           2020 General B. B. Bell