Liberty Bell Award 2020


Chattanooga Bar Association


Nominations Sought


Each year, the Chattanooga Bar Association  honors an outstanding citizen in the Chattanooga area with the “Liberty Bell Award” for public service.  Nominations are currently being solicited for the 2020 award, to be presented during the annual Law Day Luncheon which will be held on Wednesday, August 26, 2020. All nominations should be received by Thursday, July 30, 2020, and send to: Lynda Minks Hood, Executive Director, Chattanooga Bar Association, The Pioneer Building, Suite 420, 801 Broad Street Chattanooga, TN 37402.


The purpose of the Liberty Bell Award is to recognize community service that has strengthened the America system of freedom under law.  In selecting the recipient of this award, the Chattanooga Bar Association considers such service as including activities which (1) promotes better understanding of our Constitution and the Bill of Rights; (2) encourage a greater respect for the law and the courts; (3) stimulates a deeper sense of individual responsibility so that citizens recognize their duties as well as their rights; (4) contribute to the effective functioning of our institutions of government; and (5) foster a better understanding and appreciation of the rule of law.


This prestigious award, presented annually by the Chattanooga Bar Association, will be selected from nominations received by the awards judges.  Lawyers and judges are not eligible for the award; however, all other fields of endeavor are intended for the inclusion, namely education, business, sciences, communications, labor, government, religion, professions and youth organizations.


Nomination Form

Must be received on or before Thursday, July 30, 2020

The Selection Commission will review nominations and the award will be presented at the

 Annual Law Day Luncheon on Wednesday, AUGUST 26, 2020.

Nominee _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Reason for Nomination ( Please attached all supporting materials supporting the nomination) ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________





Nominated by: ____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Address __________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Phone __________________________________________   Business Phone __________________________________________________________

Please mail in your nomination to Lynda Minks Hood, Executive Director, Chattanooga Bar Association, The Pioneer Building, Suite 420, 801 Broad Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402, or by fax to (423) 265-660

liberty Bell Award Recipients

                              1964 William O. Hubbuch

                        1965 William E. Brock, Jr

                        1966 Raymond R. Murphy, Sr

                        1967 Rev. John H. Bonner, Jr.

                        1968 Lee S. Anderson

                        1969 Dr. James L. Fowler

                        1970 Dr. C.C. Bond

                        1971 Col. Creed F. Bates

                        1972 Dr. Jesse E. Adams

                        1973 Dr. J. Fred Johnson, Sr

                        1974 Roy C. Noel, Sr

                        1975 Margaret Cooper

                        1976 Dr. Spencer McCallie, Jr

                        1977 Dr. Lee S. Roberson

                        1978 Joseph H. Davenport, Jr

                        1979 Gordon P. Street, Sr

                        1980 Mai Bell Hurley

                        1981 none selected

                        1982 Luther Masingill

                        1983 Morris J. Slutsky

                        1984 H. Carey Hanlin

                        1985 Joseph F. Decosimo

                        1986 Col.  Roger Ingvalson

                        1987 John Popham

                        1988 Sam McConnell

                        1989 Sarah Faires & Alfred Law, Jr

                        1990 Ruth Holmberg

                        1991 J. Robert McGuff



              1992 Rabbi Ken Kantor

            1993 Anne Dixson

            1994 Paul J. Kinser

            1995 Martha McCarley

            1996 Dr. Dennis L. Bizzoco

            1997 Charlotte B. Boatwright

            1998 Rev. Paul A. McDaniel

            1999 Linda Mines

            2000 Vernon W. Cox

            2001 Flo Summitt

            2002 Harold L. Coker

            2003 Judith Medearis

            2004 James Mapp

            2005 Robert Oliver

            2006 Julie Baumgardner

            2007  Paul Neely

            2008 Bill Markham

            2009 Wayne Keylon

            2010  Skipper Fairbanks

            2011  Claude Ramsey

            2012  Jenny Smith Wright

            2013  Dr. Michael Woodward

            2014 Napolian Williams

            2015 Dr. Patricia Skates

            2016 Joe Smith

            2017 David F. Ross, PhD

            2018  U. S. Senator Bob Corker

            2019 Darrell Wyke